Canadian Biosphere Reserves

acrb-cbra-smallThere are now eighteen biosphere reserves in Canada, designated by UNESCO (the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization). Canada’s representatives to UNESCO are the Canadian Biosphere Reserves Association (CBRA). The CBRA’s mission is to support Canadian biosphere reserves in the achievement of their mandates and demonstrates their collective value nationally and internationally. “We serve as a strong voice for, and champion of, the biosphere reserves in our network.”



The eighteen biosphere reserves in Canada are located in eight provinces and the Northwest Territories, from the Atlantic to the Pacific coasts. They include a variety of ecosystems. In each one, activities are coordinated by a community- based organization or committee.




Beginning with its first reserve in the 1970s, Canada’s biosphere reserves were established as follows: